Malaysia Cabinet - 13 more ministers, 23 deputy ministers sworn in

KUALA LUMPUR (JULY 2): Thirteen more ministers and 23 deputy ministers took their oath of office, allegiance and secrecy today before the Yang di-Pertuan Agong, Sultan Muhammad V, at Istana Negara.

The 13 ministers sworn in today bring to 26 the total number of ministers in the Cabinet of Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

The 13 ministers earlier appointed were sworn in on May 21.

Today’s swearing-in took place at the Balairong Seri (Throne Room) and was witnessed by Dr Mahathir and his wife Tun Dr Siti Hasmah Mohamad Ali and Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail.

The ministers and deputy ministers also signed the oath of office and loyalty and the instrument of appointment, witnessed by the Chief Judge of Sabah and Sarawak Tan Sri Richard Malanjum, who represented the Chief Justice, and the Chief Secretary to the Government, Tan Sri Dr Ali Hamsa.

The ministers and deputy ministers took their oath in batches at the ceremony which began at 11 am.

The 13 new ministers are Muar MP Syed Saddiq Syed Abdul Rahman (Youth and Sports portfolio); Alor Gajah MP Mohd Redzuan Md Yusof (Entrepreneur Development); Kuala Langat MP Dr A. Xavier Jayakumar (Water, Land and Natural Resources); Kulim-Bandar Baharu MP Datuk Saifuddin Nasution Ismail (Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs); Selangau MP Baru Bian (Works); Indera Mahkota MP Datuk Saifuddin Abdullah (Foreign); Seputeh MP Teresa Kok Suh Sim (Primary Industries).

Parit Buntar MP Datuk Dr Mujahid Rawa (Prime Minister’s Department – Religion); Bakri MP Yeo Bee Yin (Energy, Technology, Science, Climate Change and Environment); Shah Alam MP Khalid Abd Samad (Federal Territories); Batu Sapi MP Liew Vui Keong (Prime Minister’s Department — Law); Penampang MP Ignatius Darell Leiking (International Trade and Industry); Silam MP Mohamaddin Ketapi (Tourism, Arts and Culture).

The 23 deputy ministers are Sri Gading MP Datuk Dr Shahruddin Md Salleh (Federal Territories); Tanjung Piai MP Dr Md Farid Md Rafik (Prime Minister’s Department – National Unity and Social Well-being); Kubang Pasu MP Datuk Ir Amiruddin Hamzah (Finance); Kuala Pilah MP Eddin Syazlee Shith (Communications and Multimedia); Hang Tuah Jaya MP Shamsul Iskandar Md Akin (Primary Industries); Bayan Baru MP Sim Tze Tzin (Agriculture and Agro-based Industry).

Kuantan MP Fuziah Salleh (Prime Minister’s Department — Religion); Sungai Buloh MP R. Sivarasa (Rural Development); Gopeng MP Dr Lee Boon Chye (Health); Balik Pulau MP Bakhtiar Wan Chik (Tourism, Arts and Culture); Setampin MP Chong Chieng Jen (Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs); Raub MP Tengku Zulpuri Shah Raja Puji (Water, Land and Natural Resources).

Pokok Sena MP Datuk Mahfuz Omar (Human Resources); Segambut MP Hannah Yeoh Tseow Suan (Women, Family and Community Development); Bukit Mertajam MP Steven Sim Chee Keong (Youth and Sports); Bangi MP Dr Ong Kian Ming (International Trade and Industry); Kulai MP Teo Nie Ching (Education); Temerloh MP Mohd Anuar Mohd Tahir (Works).

Lumut MP Dr Mohd Hatta Md Ramli (Entrepreneur Development); Sepang MP Mohamed Hanipa Maidin (Prime Minister’s Department — Law); Bandar Tun Razak MP Datuk Kamarudin Jaffar (Transport); Sepanggar MP Datuk Mohd Azis Jamman (Home Affairs) and Kota Belud MP Isnaraissah Munirah Majilis (Energy, Technology, Science, Climate Change and Environment).

Dr Mahathir, 92, was sworn in as the seventh Prime Minister of Malaysia on May 10, a day after the Pakatan Harapan coalition he leads achieved a stunning electoral victory to end the 61-year-old rule of the Barisan Nasional.

On May 21, Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail was sworn in as the Deputy Prime Minister. She was also sworn in as the Minister of Women, Family and Community Development.

Twelve other ministers were also sworn in then, namely Lim Guan Eng (Finance); Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin (Home Affairs); Mohamad Sabu (Defence); Gobind Singh Deo (Communications and Multimedia); M. Kula Segaran (Human Resources); Zuraida Kamaruddin (Housing and Local Government).

Anthony Loke Siew Fook (Transport); Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali (Economic Affairs); Salahuddin Ayub (Agriculture and Agro-based Industry); Dr Dzulkefly Ahmad (Health); Rina Mohd Harun (Rural Development) and Dr Maszlee Malik (Education). — Bernama