Type something and hit enter


KUALA LUMPUR (May 8): KPJ Healthcare Bhd has made a major revamp to its board of directors, with the appointment of five new board members and the resignation of five existing ones, primarily due to an internal restructuring of the Johor Corp Group of Companies.

The revamp sees the entry of Johor Corp's chief financial officer Rozaini Mohd Sani and Johor Corp's chief investment officer Shamsul Anuar Abdul Majid as new non-independent and non-executive directors.

Former Bank Muamalat Bhd chief executive officer Datuk Mohd Redza Shah Abdul Wahid also joined the group as independent and non-executive director, together with Khairuddin Jaflus, who was formerly the executive vice-president/head of group-wide transformation at RHB Bank Group. Another new independent and non-executive director is Datuk Dr Sivamoham S Namasivayam, a consultant obstetrician and gynaecologist at KPJ Damansara Specialist Hospital.

The ones exiting the group due to the internal restructuring mentioned above were executive directors Aminudin Dawam and Jasimah Hassan, as well as non-independent and non-executive director Wan Azman Ismail. Independent and non-executive directors Datuk Dr Zaki Morad Mohamad Zaher and Datuk Dr Bajit Kor Teja Singh have also resigned to pursue their own interests.

The changes took effect yesterday (May 7), KPJ announced in a series of stock exchange filings today. The hospital operator is 45.43%-controlled by Johor Corp, the investment arm of the Johor state government.

With the changes, KPJ's new board of directors now comprises 13 people, led by chairman Datuk Yusli Mohamed Yusof, who is also an independent non-executive director, and managing director Datuk Amiruddin Abdul Satar, who is the group's sole executive director.

Other than Yusli, there are eight other independent non-executive directors, namely Professor Datuk Dr Azizi Haji Omar, Christina Foo, Datuk Mohd Radzif Mohd Yunus, Datuk Dr Ngun Kok Weng, Mohamed Ridza Abdulla, Mohd Redza, Dr Sivamohan, and Khairuddin.

The remainder three are non-independent and non-executive directors, namely Datuk Seri Dr Mohamed Azahari Mohamed Kamil, Rozaini, and Shamsul Anuar.

KPJ's shares closed unchanged at 87 sen today, giving it a market capitalisation of RM3.72 billion, after 1.76 million shares were exchanged.


Click to comment
Back to Top
Back to Top